Brass, islands of warmth.

Outlook bleak, sky bleached.

But the show must go on. Actually it wasn’t that bad, slightly muggy but even that was brushed aside by a cool breeze that came, refreshed and moved on. The harmonic tones of the lush brass woodwind instruments created islands of  warmth for those that ventured out onto lakeside this evening for the penultimate Saturday Night Live music in the park.

MarkSymonds

12 piece band that actually had 14 members 🙂

The extended Swingland Orchestra consisting of volunteer musicians from Berwick and the Knox community group, provided a beautiful counterpoint against the lakeside sounds of nature and the mulling chat and laughter of the audience. Kids danced for free, rode the “ship”, while parents and friends sat on the decking and grass, soaking in the atmosphere.

MarkSymonds

That big band swing sound.

Saxophones and trumpets, keys, guitars and drums.

An entourage of lovely ladies and gentlemen playing a variety of , Saxophones, trombones, trumpets and even a french horn joined the rhythm/ percussion instruments of, guitar, bass and drums. Interlaced with electric piano, this support group gave the two vocalists a very decent platform on which to raise their voice.

MarkSymonds

the orchestra

MarkSymonds

Barry Woodford, vocalist in the style of Sinatra.

Barry’s rich consistency of tonal control and enunciation, wooed us with some classic Sinatra favourites.

It is only a paper moon
Sailing over a cardboard sea
But it wouldn’t be make believe
If you believed in me

Yes, it’s only a canvas sky
Hangin’ over a muslin tree
But it wouldn’t be make believe
If you believed in me

~Its Only a Paper Moon. Frank Sinatra.

MarkSymonds

Trombonist

Saxophones.

I’ll admit strait that saxophones and I have a “thing”. There is just something very alluring about a saxophone. The deep colours, the workmanship, the ethereal sounds they can make, the combination of all above? I don’t know but I can’t help not loving em. Saxophones always evoke in me, not just the swing sounds of the dance bands but also the haunting waves of Pink Floyd or the last track “Last Rendez-Vous” from Jean Michel Jarre’s  album Rendez-Vous which was originally to be played by astronaut Ron MaCnair  from the space shuttle Challenger. For those who can recall their history, Challenger exploded on take off and the tune was never heard from space. That piece still gives me goosebumps.

MarkSymonds

Saxophone golden in colour and sound.

A haunting Saxophone solo.

Speaking of haunting saxophone solos. At various times throughout the night, musicians had their “spotlight” moment, with some amazingly crafted solos.

MarkSymonds

Saxophone ala solo.

Piano solos.

There was also some mesmerising piano solos. One in particular, a powerful, full bodied, Latino flavoured score, I believe called Mas Que Nada . Played by wonderful keyboardist Jo Abbott, we were immediately transported through subspace to a grand Brazilian arena.

 

All about dat bass, bout dat bass, its Perry.

MarkSymonds

Perry, all about dat bass.

Because you know I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass, no treble
I’m all about that bass
‘Bout that bass… bass… bass… bass

~All about that bass. Meghan Trainor.

I’m pretty sure the bass never stopped walking  or at least resisted the urge to dwell on a single note. As perfect as a carbon copy, it took us high and low and created a constant groove that we know is what really makes all the girls dance. Was an absolute pleasure to spend some chat time with Perry.

MarkSymonds

Perry on bass.

Drummer, arranger and organiser 

MarkSymonds

Errol Hatch, drums

Errol’s commitment, passion and organisation to music is amazing. He teaches drums at local to Lynbrook, Evolution music shop  as well as, no doubt many hours of time arranging the nitty gritty logistics for these events. For those of us who have had the pleasure to partake of these evenings we thank, you,  the City of Casey , events co-ordinator Scott Watson and no doubt a host of others behind the scenes.

Waddles and friends.

MarkSymonds

Waddles delighted with the turn up

Waddles the duck is always delighted to strike a pose and welcome new friends to his lakeside life.

MarkSymonds

Waddles poses for “marie nature” magazine.

Waddles in a fine raiment of feather light, earthy brown coat, adorned with an iridescent speculum, splash of deep emerald green.

MarkSymonds

Waddles teaching the butterfly dance to a youngling.

The ever present Prizeman.

I’m beginning to think that our “wandering minstrel”(~thanks Sharyn), Michael has a hammock stashed away lakeside somewhere, as he is ever present, supporting , sorting, setting up and then joining in with guitar and vocals.

MarkSymonds

Michael Prizeman, with wireless technology he wanders the crowd.

MarkSymonds

The Swingland extended orchestra.

A toast to all those who have participated.

Its time to step back and just give a big thanks to all the performers so far and those yet to come.

MarkSymonds

A toast, music and wine, medicine for the soul.

Encore!

The dying light was beginning to make things a little tricky on stage. After a fabulous rendition of “Can’t take my eyes off of you” the crowd would not let the band free and demanded an encore.

I love you baby and if it’s quite all right
I need you baby to warm the lonely nights
I love you baby, trust in me when I say
Oh pretty baby, don’t bring me down I pray
Oh pretty baby, now that I’ve found you stay
And let me love you baby, let me love you
~Can’t take my eyes off of you. Frankie Valli (Four Seasons)
MarkSymonds

Light over yonder lake.

The band gave in to the crowds peremptory requests and launched into and extended version of “Love is in the air“, before eventually succumbing to the darkness of night.

Last word on Saxophones.

MarkSymonds

Saxophones in tune.

One of the things I love most about these gigs is talking to the musos and finding out about their lives. I learnt something new as always this Saturday. Unlike a guitar a Saxophone doesn’t have a push button tuner hanging off of it. I mean you could use an audio/mic input like tuner I guess but that’s hardly doable during a music set. Its all done be ye oldee ear, on the go, which is not easy.

Adjusted by moving the mouthpiece back n forth. But here is the real problem, being made of metal, a great conductor of temperature, its easily effected by the environment. As I mentioned above, we had a warm balmy start, then a cool breeze sweep through. On top of that you have not one but four saxophonists with different sized lumps of metal. That is; alto, tenor, baritone. More metal, more mass, different temperature coefficient..sorry for the lesson in engineering.

Outcome? they detune at different rates to each other. Not too mention the cooling of fingies that have to push the keys. So next time your hear these beauties, spare a thought for their maintainers. Thanks for the lesson ladies, I hope I got that all right.

SLS_0040

Beauty in its own right

More thanks.

I would like to extend my personal thanks to those that have allowed me to badger them during the sets, get in their way trying to get “that shot” so that the story could be told. I’d like to apologise to anyone I have missed, or miss quoted, incorrectly named, stood in the way of… sorry.
I would also like to thank my wife. What started out,  eight or so weeks back, as time for ourselves relaxing to music, has whisked me and camera away from her for fair periods of time. Unfortunately, my attempted serenade of “Can’t take my eyes off of you” was met by a stern “really?” stare at my camera. I guess a bottle of red should be the next, better move.

thanks hun.

 

Lynbrook Music shop Evolution
More information on Swingland can be found on their website .

City of Casey
Wilson Botanic Park
Saturday Night Live

One thought on “Brass, islands of warmth.

Leave a comment